Skip Global Navigation to Main Content
Skip Breadcrumb Navigation
Outreach to non-OECD countries

The 2014 Ministerial Council Meeting reinforced Members' commitment to advancing the OECD's relationship with five Key Partners: Brazil, China, India, Indonesia and South Africa.  Key Partner outreach promotes market- and rules-based policies in major emerging economies.  By expanding the OECD's global reach, its policy impact raises growth and increases the openness needed to generate U.S. exports and U.S. jobs.  In addition to the Key Partners, the OECD engages with regions of strategic importance such as Southeast Asia and Latin America.

A central element of the OECD's efforts is the promotion of direct and active participation of partner countries in the work of substantive bodies of the Organization. Each country participates in OECD work through a program containing a mix of several elements, notably:

The actual mix and the sequencing of the elements is determined by mutual interest.

While OECD outreach programs are distinct from accession to the OECD, they have the potential in the longer term to lead to membership in the Organization.  The OECD also works closely with over 70 other non-member economies in areas from exchange of tax information to educational assessments. OECD free-market principles and internationally recognized benchmarking and peer review support good economic governance in these countries helping to increase prosperity, investment and trade in goods and services – all of which benefit the United States.